International Congress of Mathematicians
August 13 ~ 21, 2014
Coex , Seoul , Korea
My page
Site map
Contact us
About ICM 2014 Awards Events For Participants For Sponsors & Exhibitors Publications/VOD


  Press Release
  Press Registration




  Floor Plan




  IMU GA 2014
  Home > Awards
Rolf Nevanlinna Prize
The prize was established in 1981 by the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union and named to honour the Finnish mathematician Rolf Nevanlinna (1895-1980). Like the Fields Medal the prize is targeted at younger mathematicians, The prize was first awarded at the 19th ICM in Warsaw, Poland, 1983
Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize
The Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize for Applications of Mathematics is a mathematics award, granted jointly by the International Mathematical Union and the German Mathematical Society for "outstanding mathematical contributions that have found significant applications outside of mathematics". The award receives its name from the German mathematician Carl Friedrich Gauss (1777-1855). With its premiere in 2006, it is awarded in every four year, at the International Congress of Mathematicians
Chern Medal
It is named in honour of the late Chinese mathematician Shiing-Shen Chern. The award is a joint effort of the International Mathematical Union and the Chern Medal Foundation (CMF). The first award was granted at the ICM in Hyderabad, India, 2010.
Leelavati Prize
Since 2010 IMU also awards the Leelavati Prize (at the ICM Closing Ceremony). Since 2014 this prize is sponsored by Infosys. The Leelavati Prize recognizes outstanding public outreach work for mathematics.
Abel Prize
The Abel Prize is not directly related to the IMU but is an international prize presented annually by the King of Norway to one or more outstanding mathematicians. The prize is named after Norwegian  mathematician 
Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829) who proved the impossibility of solving the quintic equation by radicals, to celebrate The two-hundredth anniversary of Abel’s death. It is among the most prestigious awards in mathematics. The Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters annually declares the winner of the Abel Prize in April and award in June.
Copyrights ⓒ Korean Mathematical Society. All Rights Reserved.
The Korea Science Technology Center #202, Teheran-ro 7 Gil 22, Gangnam-gu, Seoul 06130, Republic of Korea
TEL : +82-2-565-0361 | Fax : +82-2-565-0364 | E-mail :